

THE STATES assembled on Tuesday, 18th December, 1984 at 11 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Frank Ereaut.

All members were	present.
Prayers	

Welcome to new members.

The Bailiff welcomed to the House the new members of the States.

Appointment of Presidents of Committees.

THE STATES, in accordance with Standing Order 41, appointed Presidents of the Committees and other delegations of the Assembly as follows –

Finance and Economics Committee	Senator Reginald Robert Jeune, O.B.E.
Defence Committee	Senator John William Ellis
Harbours and Airport Committee	Senator Bernard Thomas Binnington
Public Works Committee	Deputy Donald George Filleul of St. Helier (Senator Terence John Le Main defeated by 38 votes to 15)
Education Committee	Deputy Philip George Mourant of St. Helier (Deputy Robin Ernest Richard Rumboll of St. Helier defeated by 27 votes to 26)

Price: 35p

Public	Health
Comm	ittee

Senator John Le Marquand

Agriculture and Fisheries Committee

Senator Pierre François Horsfall (Senator

Terence John Le Main defeated by

35 votes to 18)

Tourism Committee Senator John Stephen Rothwell

Social Security Committee Deputy Francis Hedley Morel of

St. Saviour

Island Development
Committee

John Pepin Le Sueur, Connétable of St. John (Senator Jane Patricia Sandeman 7 votes, Deputy Norman Stuart Le Brocq

of St. Helier 21 votes, John Pepin

Le Sueur, Connétable of St. John 25 votes)

Housing Committee

Deputy Hendricus Adolphus Vandervliet of St. Lawrence (Senator Terence John Le Main defeated by 40 votes to 13)

Resources Recovery

Board

Deputy John Le Gallais of St. Saviour

Policy Advisory Committee Senator Ralph Vibert, O.B.E.

Telecommunications

Board

Deputy Robin Ernest Richard Rumboll of

St. Helier

Etat Civil Senator Anne Baal (Deputy David John de

la Haye of St. Ouen defeated by 37 votes to

14)

Legislation Committee	Deputy Edgar John Becquet of Trinity
Cottage Homes Committee	Leonard James Norman, Connétable of St. Saviour
Prison Board	Deputy Edgar John Becquet of Trinity (Senator Terence John Le Main defeated by 30 votes to 23)
Establishment Committee	Deputy Sir Martin Le Quesne, K.C.M.G., of St. Saviour
Elizabeth House Committee	Senator Anne Baal (Deputy Margaret Sylvia Beadle of St. Brelade defeated by 29 votes to 24)
Ann Alice Rayner Fund Delegation	Senator Reginald Robert Jeune, O.B.E.
Gambling Control Committee	Senator Terence John Le Main
Fort Regent Development Committee	Deputy Jack Roche of St. Saviour
Constitution Committee	Senator Ralph Vibert, O.B.E.
Overseas Aid Committee	Deputy Jean Amy Le Maistre of St. Helier (Deputy Corrie Stein of Grouville defeated by 42 votes to 11)
Committee for Postal Administration	Senator Richard Joseph Shenton (Deputy Jean Amy Le Maistre of St. Helier defeated by 33 votes to 20)
Broadcasting Committee	Deputy Enid Clare Quenault of St. Brelade

Special Committee to consider Relationship between Committees and the States	Senator Reginald Robert Jeune, O.B.E.
Industrial Relations Committee	Deputy Michael Adam Wavell of St. Helier (Deputy David John de la Haye of St. Ouen 10 votes, Deputy Leonard Norman of St. Clement 12 votes, Senator Jane Patricia Sandeman 12 votes, Deputy Michael Adam Wavell of St. Helier 18 votes)
Liberation Anniversary Committee	President of the Tourism Committee (Senator John Stephen Rothwell)
Special Committee on Defence Contribution and International Representation	Senator Ralph Vibert, O.B.E.
Chairman, Joint Advisory Council	Deputy Jack Roche of St. Saviour
Industrial Disputes Officer	Deputy David John de la Haye of St. Ouen
Deputy Industrial Disputes Officer	Deputy Leonard Norman of St. Clement

THE STATES rose at 4.50 p.m.

E.J.M. POTTER,

Greffier of the States.